2004-01-15
Confession of a Former Girl Scout

Monday night my Bible Study was having a grill-out, and all the regulars were there plus you could bring a friend. There were lots of people, relatively. Someone brought Catch Phrase with them, which I had never played before. It's a cross between Hot Potato and Charades only with an electric doodad and no paper (more like that game show 10,000 dollar pyramid).

So here we were, sitting in a big circle engaging in exactly the high pressure games I hate, because you let a whole team down (of people you hardly know) when you suck (which I almost always do).

I get the doodad, which is already beep beep beeping pretty fast and it says "gold", which seemed easy enough. ALL I COULD THINK OF was Make new friends, but keep the old--...so I actually started kind of singing it, panicing as the doodad starts beeping faster and faster, thinking it was the only logical thing. Everyone just looked at me in confusion. Then I realized (halfway through the song) that I could just say "Not silver, but ---." I believe it may have been too late to redeem myself though.

One of my most humbling moments, right there.

<<<< | >>>>
navi
new
old
profile

contact
notes
e-mail

thanks
design
shoes
host